top of page

Coping with Stress from School and Classes

School and classes are stressful no matter what school or level of classes you are enrolled in. We wanted to share some ways that we cope with stress when it comes to academics.


One thing that helps me to cope with academic stress is organization! When I get overwhelmed, things tend to grow dramatically in my mind: I over aggerate the difficulty of tasks and think that I will fail and not get things done. However, when I create bullet point lists of tasks and make a clear, visual agenda for myself, that helps me tremendously. Seeing all of the tasks laid out in front of me, visually, keeps them from ballooning and seeming too difficult. Additionally, it helps you keep track of things and makes sure that if you don’t finish something, you still have it listed for tomorrow! I know that agendas and calendars can be hard to keep up with– believe me, I struggle. However, making simple, daily to-do lists wherever (like on post it notes or google docs) you can be more organized and less stressed, since you’re not scrambling to do whatever comes to mind!

- Krushi Bandam, Cuthbertson High School


 

What I find most beneficial in helping relieve school stress is having a designated physical space to do my schoolwork. I find that if my work is out in an area that I constantly have to walk by or see, it feels like my tasks are looming over me. Having a designated space that is just for work helps get me in the right mindset when I need to get tasks accomplished, and I can walk away from it when it’s time for a break. I like to set up a visual schedule and task list and color code by subject or class. When I have a larger project, I try to break it up into more manageable steps and schedule them so I get a little done at a time instead of trying to do it all at once. It’s motivating to check things off my list as I go and allows me to see my progress.

Chelsea G., Edwards Memorial Library in Marshville

 

Whenever there is school work, or really any task I’m putting off, that I don’t want to do, I make myself do it for only 10 minutes at a time. I literally set a timer and work only to that point. After that, I give myself permission to stop if I want to. Sometimes I do stop then, but often once I've started, I’m fine going longer than the 10 minutes. The initial inertia is usually the most difficult part of the most stressful tasks.

- Laura Kovacs, Main Library in Monroe

 

Whenever I get overwhelmed with school stress, I turn to the 40-20 system. I write down everything I have to do in my planner and get to work. I work on one task for 40 minutes, then take a 20 minute breather. Whether the break is on Tik Tok, YouTube, or just laying down, I time it for 20 minutes. I find myself more productive with small breaks in between as I’m less likely to be distracted later on. I also like to color code my school assignments in my planner. I use blue for dual enrollment classes, pink for AP Physics, and yellow for AP Calculus. I find it easier to do assignments when I have a visual of what to do. My 40-20 system also has a visual aspect as I can watch my timer countdown. Both really help me manage stress!

- Amelia Cardinale, Piedmont High School

 

Whenever my classes feel too heavy to handle but I still need to study or do work, I try using things that interest me to connect to the material. During COVID-19 online classes, I felt like everything in my life was too quiet. While I was working on things, I would play ambience videos in the background that made me feel like I was studying on campus. I also tend to use the pomodoro method to make sure I get my breaks in. Sometimes I’ll even sit with my friends on Zoom and have a study session to make it feel more normal.

- Nichole Henry-Cebellos, Main Library in Monroe


 

As someone who feels the need to constantly learn something new or stay busy, I understand the challenges and overwhelming feelings of balancing course work and all other aspects of life! When I start to feel overwhelmed, I set aside time to go for a walk. Walking is my ultimate stress reliever! I no longer think about the things that were causing me to feel overwhelmed, and in that moment, I feel at peace and unbothered. I learned that walking actually releases a brain chemical, endorphins, that stimulates relaxation and an improved mood. I highly recommend going for a walk to release any tension or stress - it has helped me on many occasions!

- Ulayah Ivey, Main Library in Monroe



How do you cope with stress from school or classes?

Let us know on our socials or using the contact form below!

bottom of page